Win

WIN! Maybelline Lipsticks

218caeb98f0d646d649da425fb3f9c68

Lipstick is my addiction. I love it sticky and bright, I love it soft and stained, I love it sheer, I love it matte, I love it red, pink, coral, burgundy and I’ve even worn black. While I am a tad old for that kind of carry-on these days, I still love bold lipstick.

Apparently, this puts me in the minority in New Zealand, where women tend to err on the side of caution and wear bare lips. A recent survey through Maybelline New York’s New Zealand Facebook community reveals 40% of those polled only wear lipstick a couple of times a month – apparently the idea of applying lipstick correctly and in a complementing shade is just too daunting for some. A further 30% wear it a couple of times a week, “depending on their mood” and 30% of consumers wear lipstick every day and “feel naked without it”.

a9a29b6c4acc3acb1a310c8d4bb807d9

According to Maybelline New York New Zealand make-up artist Julia O’Neil, it’s because we become familiar with seeing our face in a certain way. “Many women think they don’t suit lipstick, but in fact nothing could be further from the truth,” Julia says. “When you change something on your face you become very aware of it and with a change in lip colour, this may feel overwhelming. Just because you’re highly aware of the change, others won’t be, but they will undoubtedly see how fabulous you look. Splashing on your chosen shade gives your face a boost of colour – literally within seconds.”

Personally, I love the French style of makeup – a bold, confident lip worn with almost bare skin, save a tiny dab of concealer if needed. Lipstick is something that ties an outfit together and makes me feel ‘done’. It can perk me up on a down day and makes me feel more confident than I feel at times.

I say, go ahead and apply that lipstick. Start sheer if you have to, but just do it. You only live once.

Visit: https://www.facebook.com/MaybellineNZ if you would like some more tips and tricks on getting the look right.
And if you’d like to go in the draw to win a trio of Maybelline lipsticks to try for yourself, post a pic on my Facebook page of you in your favourite lipstick and share the pic with your friends. The winner will be drawn Monday 28th April and notified on the BeautyEd Facebook page.

Good luck!

 

Leave a comment