Skin

Dermalogica Super Sensitive Shield is SUPER indeed!

dermalogica-super-sensitive-shield-spf30-50ml

I don’t think I have very sensitive skin, BUT I prefer to use gentle products that are targetted at sensitive skin types because ‘aggravating’ ingredients and products laden with fragrances and alcohols can be a leading contributor to inflammation in the skin and… from a long term perspective, inflammation equals ageing. ‘Keep calm and carry on’ should be out motto in preventative ageing in my humble opinion.

I am also insanely pedantic about sun protection and aim to always use physical blocks that incorporate the top two big guns in mineral sunblock ingredients: titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. These work by reflecting damaging UV rays off the skin when it hits exposed skin.

For all the above reasons, I was pleased to get my hands on a bottle of Dermalogica’s Super Sensitive Shield SPF30 which combines 7.0% titanium dioxide and 9.0% zinc oxide for a powerful skin protecting block.

The Dermalogica Super Sensitive Faceblock SPF30 is a milky fluid that comes in a small squeezable bottle, which is a handy handbag size and the screw top lids means it won’t flip open in your bag and wreck havoc. I give the bottle a good shake before use, squeeze a small amount onto my fingertips and apply it to facial skin – it spreads easily and the finish is fairly matt, so it works well as a makeup base and is ideal for oily skin types. It also contains Dermalogica’s exclusive UltraCalmingTM Complex with oat and botanical actives to help minimise discomfort, burning and itching triggered by inflammation. The sheer formula is said to provide optimal hydration and help protect and reinforce barrier lipids, which are often compromised in sensitized skin types. And, better still, the product is formulated without artificial fragrances and colours.

It’s very pleasant to use, but at $109 a bottle is the priciest facial block I have tried. That said, only a tiny amount is required as it is a sheer fluid and spreads easily, so I can imagine it lasting a very long while. I do think that the face is a highly worthwhile investment since we wear it every day as well; I never scrimp on sunblock since it is the most important thing in my anti-ageing arsenal! Two thumbs up for high quality protection and being so pleasant to use.

Leave a comment