Natural / Skin

Osmosis Stemfactor Serum

Osmosis Stemfactor

Osmosis Stemfactor

I have to admit that science is not my forte and I certainly don’t know the ins and outs of stem cell technology, but I can tell you that Stemfactor is the best selling product from US brand Osmosis so that was a good sign. In addition, most skin experts I have spoken to, including the fantastic ladies at The Face Place all swear by the daily use of a stem cell product, so I was keen to get on board and find out more about what it all means.

But before I head into a product rave, let’s try and understand the use of stem cells in skin care… this is a little complicated. According to website www.barefacedtruth.com human stem cells themselves won’t be in any products, but they can be grown in culture (in vitro, or outside the body) in a laboratory. Apparently well fed cells divide to make new daughter cells and “expand” in culture. As they start to crowd up against each other their proliferation slows and some of the cells may be transferred to new, less crowded flasks, where they will resume dividing. The nutrient rich fluid that bathes them in culture contains cytokines, which is called conditioned medium… and if you put it on skin, it can improve skin texture, tone and colour. If you keep applying it, you will see structural changes (increase collagen production) with reduction of wrinkles.

Osmosis’ description of Stemfactor is similarly complicated, “Advanced technology utilizing exosomes that encapsulate the growth factors and proteins increasing penetration, stability and activating more receptors to enhance results. Over 150 different skin growth factors derived from adult stem cells create this serum that improves all aspects of skin aging and skin damage.”

Of course the last line is the one that we all want to hear. And while I don’t really understand the science, I can say I have been using Stemfactor for many months now and consider it an absolute mainstay of my routine. My skin looks more even and feels smoother. The clear serum itself is super light and one pump is enough to cover both my face and neck if I use Osmosis Clear Plus to massage it in. As an aside, Osmosis mist has hydrating hyaluronic acid in it and works to keep the skin moisturised while assisting with product penetration, which makes this routine even better. Suffice it to say, Stemfactor gets two thumbs-up from me – I wouldn’t go to bed without it. Osmosis Stemfactor costs $253.80 and can be purchased from the Osmosis website.

Have you tried stem cell products?
What did you think?

Leave a comment