Hair

Loving: Sorbet Sensational Solids

Sorbet Solid Shampoo Bar

Sorbet Solid Shampoo Bar

Many of you readers will already have picked up that I am quite inclined towards natural products and that I truly love to support New Zealand brands. Well, this review ticks both those boxes, so if you’re like me – or you just want gorgeous hair – read on.

Founded by Brianne West, Sorbet Sensational Solid Cosmetics is a brand entirely focused on non-toxic yet totally wonderful products that deliver results – all in solid bar form. That also means no environmental waste goes into producing bottles and energy later burned in recycling them. So good. I love her ethics. But, what’s also important is that like most of us, ethics or not, Brianne is a young woman who wants healthy, soft hair, smooth, conditioned skin. And she makes a great point when she says that she doesn’t ‘get’ the point of stripping the hair with sulphate cleansers and then loading it up with silicone conditioning agents to try and smooth the cuticle.

Her bars are completely biodegradable, contain no water so contain no preservatives (except Superstar), are wrapped in dissolvable wrappers for a completely waste free product and they last up to six times longer than a bottled product.

They are absolutely awesome for travel – just buy a little soap box to pop them in. Voila! And they have a 100% money back guarantee, so if you don’t like your bar, send it back to Sorbet within 14 days for a full refund.

I didn’t know which product to try on my hair so I got sent the Sorbet Sampler kit to try a few and see what works best for me. I ended up settling on St Clements, the citrus-scented solid shampoo bar for oily hair and I use Wonderbar solid conditioner, because my hair is very dry on the ends – talk about mixed up strands huh?

Wonderbar is really wonderful!

Wonderbar is really wonderful!

Anyway, the results are great and I have already repeat purchased. It takes a little getting used to using a solid bar, but you simply wipe the shampoo bar on the scalp and then foam it with your fingertips and rinse off. For the conditioner, squeeze out the extra moisture and swipe it down your mid-lengths to ends. After use, my hair feels soft and looks healthy – it has more volume than usual and forms bouncy curls better than before. Wonderbar is formulated with super nourishing Coconut Oil, Cocoa Butter and the sweet scent of Vanilla and can also be used as a shaving bar, which is super handy. Gorgeous products. I highly recommend checking their website and seeing what suits you.

 

One thought on “Loving: Sorbet Sensational Solids

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate Beauty Bag for Travel | Beauty Editor

Leave a comment